EAAS Rob Kroes Publication Award

Call for Manuscript Submissions ~ Closing Date:
Jan. 30
, 2017.

Call for Manuscript Submissions

Closing Date: 30 September 2023

The European Association for American Studies invites submissions for its annual Rob Kroes Publication Award for an unpublished book-length manuscript. The award is named for Rob Kroes, who served as Treasurer (1976–1988) and President (1992–1996) of EAAS. For many years, Rob Kroes also edited the series “European Contributions to American Studies,” where the EAAS Biennial Conference volumes appeared from 1980 to 2006.

The competition is open to all members of the twenty-two national and joint-national American Studies organizations in EAAS (see http://www.eaas.eu/about-eaas/constituent-members). EAAS defines “American Studies” broadly. To be eligible, a manuscript should be in the fields of literary, cultural, political, historical or interdisciplinary studies. Emphasis placed on other disciplines and the arts within the context of American Studies is also welcome. All entries should be concerned with phenomena or events that focus on what is now the United States of America. We welcome comparative and international studies that fall within these guidelines. To be considered, manuscripts should have the minimum length of 80 000 words (double spaced; Font: Times New Roman: Font size: 12) in total with introduction and bibliography included. Style to be used: MLA for submissions in literature and culture, and the Chicago Manual of Style for submissions in history and social or political science.

Authors of eligible manuscripts are invited to nominate their work. We urge scholars who know of eligible manuscripts written by others to inform those authors of the opportunity. The award is open to authors of English-language manuscripts only. Entrants are requested to write an 1-2 page précis or abstract explaining why the manuscript is a significant and original contribution to American Studies.

The author of the winning work will receive a cash award of 500 euros and their manuscript will be published by Brill in the EAAS book series “European Perspectives on the United States.” The author will be expected to clear any copyright issues. More information about the publication procedure to be followed will be provided in due course.

Submission instructions:

Please submit a pdf-version of your manuscript, with the brief essay, to:

EAAS Book Series Editor, Marek Paryż at m.a.paryz@uw.edu.pl


Further information on our book series with Brill can be found here: https://brill.com/view/serial/EAAS?language=en



The Rob Kroes Book Award for 2022 has been awarded to Tuula Kolehmainen for her manuscript "'Like Men They Stood': Black Male Vulnerability in Fiction Written by African American Women.”


Previous awards

The Rob Kroes Book Award for 2021 has been awarded to Giulia Crisanti for her manuscript “Europeans Are Lovin’ it? Coca Cola, McDonald’s, and the Responses to American Global Business in Italy and France, 1886-2015.”

The Rob Kroes Book Award for 2020 has been awarded to:

Pia Wiegmink for “Reconfiguring the Nation: Transnationalism and Gender in Nineteenth-Century American Abolitionist Literature”

The manuscript provides a fresh assessment of classic material through an interdisciplinary, transnational, gendered lens and adds dimension and texture to understandings of American abolitionist writing by pushing its boundaries beyond the US and onto the global stage.

Martina Mastandrea for “F. Scott Fitzgerald on Silent Film”

The manuscript does a highly competent job of bringing everything that is known about the silent film adaptations of Fitzgerald’s works together into one readable and entertaining body of work.


The winner of the 2015 EAAS Rob Kroes Publication Award was Dr. Ahu Tanrisever for Fathers, Warriors, and Vigilantes: Post-Heroism and the U.S. Cultural Imaginary in the Twenty-First Century, now vol. 10, 2016 (Rob Kroes Publication Award 2015), xvi +273p., ISBN 978-3-8253-6578-3, € 39 (also as e-book).


The 2013 EAAS Rob Kroes biennial Publication Award for the best book manuscript in American Studies went to Andrew S. Gross for The Pound Reaction: Liberalism and Lyricism in Midcentury American Literature, now vol. 7, 2015 (Rob Kroes Publication Award 2013). viii + 262p., ISBN 978-3-8253-6470-0, € 36. Order on line (also as e-book).


The 2011 EAAS Rob Kroes biennial Publication Award went to Dr Frank Mehring (John F. Kennedy Institut, Freie Universität Berlin) for The Democratic Gap: Transcultural Confrontations of German Immigrants and the Promise of American Democracy. It is now vol. 5 (2014) of the series European Views of the United States. xxiv, 403 p., 38 unpag. color plates, ISBN 978-3-8253-6170-9, € 50.Order on line (also e-book)


The 2009 Kroes Prize winner was Astrid Franke of the University of Tübingen, Germany. It was published as vol. 2 vol. 2, 2010 of the series European Views of the United States. xiv, 281 p., ISBN 978-8253-5751-1, € 39.


Franke Cover The Democratic Gap The Pound Reaction - cover   9783825365783  

See the section "EAAS Biennial Conference Volumes and Other EAAS Publications" for details.