Rob Kroes Publication Award

EAAS Rob Kroes Publication Award

Call for Manuscript Submissions ~ Closing Date:
Jan. 30
, 2017.


CALL FOR MANUSCRIPT SUBMISSIONS - Closing Date: Jan. 30th, 2017

missions ~ Closing Date:
Jan. 30
, 2017

The European Association for American Studies invites submissions for its biennial Rob Kroes Publication Award for an unpublished book-length manuscript.

The award is named for Rob Kroes, who served as Treasurer (1976–1988) and President (1992–1996) of EAAS. For many years, Rob Kroes also edited the series European Contributions to American Studies, where the EAAS Biennial Conference volumes appeared from 1980 to 2006.

The competition is open to all members of the twenty-two national and joint-national American Studies organizations in EAAS (see

EAAS defines “American Studies” broadly. To be eligible, a manuscript should be in the fields of literary, cultural, political or historical and interdisciplinary studies. Emphasis place on other disciplines and teh arts within the context of American studies are also welcome. All entries should be concerned with phenomena or events that focus on what is now the United States of America. We welcome comparative and international studies that fall within these guidelines. To be considered, manuscripts should be between 200 and 300 (maximum) pages or 50,000-65,000 words long (double spaces; Font: Times New Roman. Font size: 12) in total with introduction and bibliography included. Style to be used: MLA.

Authors of eligible manuscripts are invited to nominate their work. We urge scholars who know of eligible manuscripts written by others to inform those authors of the opportunity. The award is open to authors of English-language manuscripts only. Entrants are requested to write an 1-2 page précis or abstract explaining why the manuscript is a significant and original contribution to American Studies.

The winning work will be published at no cost to the author. The author will be expected to clear any copyright issues and provide the publisher with a camera-ready manuscript or PDF file. More information about the publication procedure to be followed will be provided in due course.

Submission instructions:

Please submit a pdf-version of your manuscript, with the brief essay, to the EAAS Secretary-General, Dr. Tatiani Rapatzikou:

Deadline of Submission: Jan. 30th, 2017

Download the call for Submission (pdf)

Previous awards

The winner of the 2015 EAAS Rob Kroes Publication Award was Dr. Ahu Tanrisever for Fathers, Warriors, and Vigilantes: Post-Heroism and the U.S. Cultural Imaginary in the Twenty-First Century, now vol. 10, 2016 (Rob Kroes Publication Award 2015), xvi +273p., ISBN 978-3-8253-6578-3, € 39 (also as e-book)

The 2013 EAAS Rob Kroes biennial Publication Award for the best book manuscript in American Studies went to Andrew S. Gross for The Pound Reaction: Liberalism and Lyricism in Midcentury American  Literature, now vol. 7, 2015 (Rob Kroes Publication Award 2013). viii + 262p., ISBN 978-3-8253-6470-0, € 36. Order on line (also as e-book).

The 2011 EAAS Rob Kroes biennial Publication Award went to Dr Frank Mehring (John F. Kennedy Institut, Freie Universität Berlin) for The Democratic Gap: Transcultural Confrontations of German Immigrants and the Promise of American Democracy. It is now vol. 5 (2014) of the series European Views of the United States.  xxiv, 403 p., 38 unpag. color plates, ISBN 978-3-8253-6170-9, € 50.Order on line (also e-book)

The 2009 Kroes Prize winner was Astrid Franke of the University of Tübingen, Germany. It was published as vol. 2 vol. 2, 2010 of the series European Views of the United States. xiv, 281 p.,  ISBN 978-8253-5751-1, € 39. 

Franke Cover The Democratic Gap The Pound Reaction - cover   9783825365783  

See the section "EAAS Biennial Conference Volumes and Other EAAS Publications" for details.